About Reading Lists Manual Login
Donate Bitcoin
Donate Monero
Freedom and the Future of the Internet
Cover by : Julian Paul Assange
    published :2012
subject :Nonfiction
keywords :Cypherpunks, Hacking, Hacktivism, Secrecy, Encryption, Bitcoin, Wikileaks
size : 66.4 KiB in cover
66.6 KiB in 129 footnotes
233.5 KiB in 557 paragraphs
~ 154 pages
added by : ewa4boeker (07 Feb 2015)

The Internet has led to revolutions across the world but a crackdown is now in full swing. As whole societies move online, mass surveillance programs are being deployed globally. Our civilization has reached a crossroads. In one direction lies a future promoting “privacy for the weak and transparency for the powerful”; in the other is an internet that transfers power over entire populations to an unaccountable complex of spy agencies and their trans-national corporate allies.

Cypherpunks are activists who advocate the mass use of strong cryptography as a way protecting our basic freedoms against this onslaught.

Julian Assange, the editor-in-chief of and visionary behind WikiLeaks, has been a leading voice in the cypherpunk movement since the 1990s. Now, in a timely and important new book, Assange brings together a group of rebel thinkers and activists from the front line of the battle for cyberspace to discuss whether the internet will emancipate or enslave all of us.

Discussion with internet activists and cypherpunks Jacob Appelbaum, Andy Müller-Maguhn and Jérémie Zimmermann. Its primary topic is society's relationship with computer security. In the book, the authors warn that the Internet has become a tool of the police state and that the world is inadvertently heading toward a form of totalitarianism. They promote the use of cryptography to protect against state surveillance.

Author: Julian Paul Assange (*3 July 1971)
Coauthors: Jacob Appelbaum, Andy Müller-Maguhn, Jérémie Zimmermann
Language: English
Publisher: OR Books
ISBN: 978-1-939293-00-8, 978-1-939293-01-5

JULIAN ASSANGE is the editor in chief of WikiLeaks and the recipient of the 2009 Amnesty International New Media Award, the 2011 Sydney Peace Foundation Gold Medal, the 2011 Walkley Award for Journalism, and the 2011 Martha Gellhorn Prize. An original contributor to the cypherpunk mailing list, he is the creator of numerous software projects in line with cypherpunk philosophy, including the Rubberhose encryption system and the original code for WikiLeaks. He is the co-author (with Sulette Dreyfus) of Underground, a history of the international hacker movement.
Radical Militant Library 0.5.6
12 statements, 0.00694 seconds, 3 KiB